Oregon Wheat Growers League Elects New Officers for 2011

By Oregon Wheat Grower’s League

The Nominating Committee chaired by OWGL Immediate Past President, Jeff Newtson, offered a slate of officers for 2011 as follows:, Craig Reeder, President; Tyson Raymond, Vice President; Walter Powell, Secretary/Treasurer; and Darren Padget, Immediate Past President. The members present at the Annual Meeting in Portland on Wednesday, December 1, unanimously accepted the proposed slate of officers and President Jeff Newtson swore the new officers in effective January 1, 2011.

Oregon Wheat Acknowledges Growers and Industry Representatives for their Contributions

The Oregon Wheat Growers League leadership bestowed awards upon several individuals over the course of the Oregon/Idaho Grains Conference held in Portland.

During the Annual Meeting, President Darren Padget, honored the following individuals:

Oregon Wheat Growers League Board members, Bob Martin – Sherman County President (Outstanding County President), and Dan Steiner – Co-chair, Marketing Committee (Outstanding Committee Chair) were both acknowledged for their outstanding contributions during 2010.

Bob has served the Oregon Wheat producers for a number of years as liaison for Sherman County to the Board of Directors, and will continue his service in 2011.

Dan was recognized for his work in maintaining the quality of the information presented at the monthly Statewide Wheat Marketing Education Series.

The Oregon Wheat Growers League is appreciative of Bob and Dan for their selfless contribution to the industry.

During the Joint Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, December 2, the OWGL honored two individuals with the “Above and Beyond” award for 2010. David Shelton, Executive Director of the Wheat Marketing Center, Portland, was recognized for his tireless efforts working with bakers, millers and trade teams from throughout the world to promote the quality of Oregon wheat, and its end-use capabilities. The OWGL also recognized Larry Bishop, Milton Freewater wheat producer for his participation, enthusiasm and interest in the wheat industry of Oregon.

Dr. Jim Peterson, OSU Wheat Breeder, was honored with the “Distinguished Service Award” for 2010. Dr. Peterson was acknowledged for his long-term commitment to yield and end use functionality, assuring the needs and expectations of both producer and buyer are factored in to the varieties he and his co-workers develop and release. Dr Peterson traveled from Colorado to accept his award.

Disclaimer: Articles featured on Oregon Report are the creation, responsibility and opinion of the authoring individual or organization which is featured at the top of every article.